Summer Classic Finals

 Summer Classic Finals

By Keith “Bugsy” Goldberg

Tonight, August 24, is the final night of the 39th St. Francis Summer Classic. The Boys Grammar Middle championship begins the night at 7 p.m. Wednesday’s semifinals pitted Creamer Street Realty against Ridgewood Savings Bank and against Pizza on the Point. The Boys Grammar Senior championship will follow at 8:15 p.m. to close the 2023 season. Semifinals on Wednesday had Rockawave Volleyball Training against Walsh Properties and New York Surf School against George Clark Realty.

Championship week began last Thursday with the Tim Klein Men’s Open Championships. The Division 2 final kicked things off with the most exciting game of the year as Rockaway Beach Local outlasted A&S at the Harbor in triple overtime, 70-68, in a game with more twists and turns than a mountain road. Ian Geraghty had 29 to lead Rockaway Beach Local and his champion teammates are Billy Buckley, Michael Buckley, Blake Pomerantz, Mike Rodriguez, Matt Alessandro, Joe Alessandro, Sean O’Connor, Ray Henry, Brian Despot, and Daniel Carrion.

The Division 1 final followed and what was expected to be a game of offensive fireworks instead turned into a defensive battle. JG Electric got off to a slow start, but Kennedy’s Restaurant had scoring problems of their own. JG’s Charlie Marquardt finally got on tracked in the second half and they pulled away to win 50-36. Marquardt finished with 27 and cousin Neil Marquardt added 13 including 7/7 free throws in the second half. Also wearing the long sleeves for JG Electric are Jack Hurley, Kevin Connelly, Matt Knott, Ryan Kilgallen, Mark Genovese, Matt Linares, Jimmy Wolfer, John Timothy, and Sean Lynch.

Friday night began with the Girls Grammar Senior final. Pipin’s Pub edged Mullin Basketball Camp 25-22. The champions are coached by Frank Wassenbergh and Jill Palisi and the players are Megan McCormick, Annaliese Sullivan, Lacey Wassenbergh, Taylor Grosetto, Kate Heegan, Lily Mollaghan, Maggie Palisi, Maeve Batholomeo, Madison Fiore, Lucy Burke, and Iris Lynch.

The Boys High School championship was a thriller with Bay Ridge Financial Group prevailing 41-40 over Connolly’s. Matt O’Sullivan was outstanding with 21 points and fine overall play. His teammates are JoJo O’Grady, Shane Murphy, Finbar McGuiness, Dylan Touhey, Ronan Austin, Conor Fernandez, John Gallagher, Chris Polisano, and Thomas Healy, and the coaches are Michael Friedman and Mike McManus.

Tuesday night in the gym, Crush Studio defeated Callie’s for the championship of the Clare Droesch Women’s Open, and then NF Beauty won the Girls High School title over Flynn & Flynn. Details on these games next week. Don’t miss the final night tonight and don’t forget that Friday, August 25 is the 10th annual Clare Droesch 3 on 3 by the Sea. It’s all happening at St. Francis de Sales.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *